Nauru Youth Parliament

Gioluba appointed as president of Nauru Youth Parliament

Goluba was selected after an election by the youth members during their first ever sitting last week.

A statement issued by government also confirmed that Jo-delia Agigo has been appointed as speaker and deputy speaker, with Nicodemus Kamtaura pre-appointed as the clerk of Parliament.

“In an unexpected turn of events, the anticipated opposition leader, Mr Olsson swayed the votes in his favour, 10 – 4 against member Zillman Gioura.”

“A number of the members were not able to attend the inaugural sitting due to study commitments overseas.”

Nauru Youth Parliament hosts inaugural sitting

They hosted their first every parliament sitting, last week.

A statement issued by the government said the inaugural session was opened by Speaker of Parliament Marcus Stephen.

“The NYP is an initiative that aims to empower aspiring young leaders in Nauru, to help build their understanding of the nation’s democratic institutions and enhance public engagement between the Parliament and the broader public.”

“The members aged 18-25 have a keen interest in the mechanics of parliament and desire a platform to voice their concerns for the youth.”