Nauru to hold election on 24 Aug

Nauru’s Speaker of Parliament Cyril Buraman has issued a notice that a General Election of Members of Parliament will be held on 24 August 2019.

The notice was published in the Government Gazette Monday, 15 July 2019.

The Electoral Commissioner, Joseph Cain has also been advised to conduct the poll on Saturday, 24 August.

The National Electoral Roll will be published on Friday, 19 July 2019 on the Gazette and Nauru Electoral Commission Notice Board for viewing.

Voter transfers and registrations will be closed on Saturday, 3 August 2019 at 5pm.

Voting is compulsory and the NEC is advising families living abroad that the Commission has appointed witnesses to assist them with proxy voting forms.

For countries without Nauru Embassies like Kiribati and Tuvalu, an Appointee will be visiting towards the 2019 General Election day.

Nominations of candidates will open on Monday, 5 August and close on Saturday, 10 August.

Candidates names will be published on Wednesday, 14 August and the draw for their positions on the ballot paper will take place on Friday, 16 August 2019.