Nauru counting down to weekend election

Sixty candidates are set to contest this Saturday's general election in Nauru.

They will be running for 19 seats spread across eight electorates.

The Electoral Commission reported there were 7479 registered voters for the poll, for which voting is compulsory.

About 14 percent of votes are expected to come from people living off island.

Nauru's parliament has a three-year electoral term as does the president who is elected by MPs.

The current president, Baron Waqa, has held the office since 2013.