new government

Tokelau welcomes new head of government

In a statement, National Public Service general manager Tino Vitale said the general fono chairperson, deputy chairperson and the 28 members of the 12th Government of Tokelau have been sworn in.

He said the Ulu, on behalf of the Taupulega, or Council of Elders, tabled the council's decision on ministerial portfolios amongst council members for general fono endorsement.

The Ulu-o-Tokelau is an annual rotational role that is served by the Faipule or leader of each atoll.

In Honiara hotels, lobbying for a new government begins

This follows the opposition's defeat of prime minister Manasseh Sogavare in Monday's vote of no-confidence.

The group which successfully moved the motion of no-confidence is basing its lobbying at the Honiara hotel.

Meanwhile the rump of Mr Sogavare's former government is based at the Heritage Park Hotel.

A member of this group, the MP for Nggela Bartholomew Parapalo, said they were not out of the race.

Announcement tomorrow on next NZ Government

New Zealand First Leader Rt Hon Winston Peters said he had spoken to the leaders of the National Party and the Labour Party today and, amongst other matters, advised them of that.

What you need to know

It's been 26 days since the election.

NZ is into the 10th day of negotiations.

On Tuesday night Mr Peters secretly met one-on-one with both Bill English and Jacinda Ardern.