Seven changes to Maori All Blacks

The New Zealand Maori have made seven changes to the starting XV for Saturday morning's match against Munster in Limerick.

The side includes five new caps - flanker Reed Prinsep, halfback Billy Guyton and wing Ambrose Curtis who will start, while New Zealand under 20s captain and hooker Leni Apisai and Waikato skipper Whetu Douglas will make their debuts off the bench.

Ash Dixon again captains the Maori All Blacks from hooker, with Otere Black directing the team from first-five.

Coach Colin Cooper says the win over the USA last week was satisfying but they were also looking forward to the unique experience of playing in Limerick.

"Our exit plays last week were particularly good and I thought that was the edge that we had over the US. We played a lot of rugby in their half.

"But I think that Munster being another physical pack, particularly at lineout driving time, we will want to play the game in their half.

"We're expecting a lot of physicality down the back so we'll be looking to our bench to make an impact.

"This match is a huge game. I think every player at some stage in their career would like to play Munster in Limerick. We certainly saw the passion of the people here and the stadium being sold out, Ireland beating the All Blacks at the weekend - it's got everyone pretty hummed so it will be a mighty contest," Cooper said.

Expecting the Irish to get behind their team, Cooper said he was expecting some intense noise at Thomond Park Stadium.

"The crowd is like an extra, the 24th person. They are very vocal and very passionate so it will be a challenge for us.

"I've always admired Munster from afar. The people here are pretty passionate, and certainly people here know New Zealand and they know these players - they are very respectful people.

"This game is going to be special. I've always admired Munster from afar and now I'm going to be at the coalface of taking on Munster, it will be a great experience and opportunity to lead such good men like we've got in this group."

The team is:

1 Kane Hames Tasman Ngai Tuhoe / Ngati Porou

2 Ash Dixon (Capt) Hawkes Bay Ngati Tahinga

3 Ben May Hawkes Bay Ngati Maniapoto / Tainui

4 Leighton Price Taranaki Waikato / Ngati Maniapoto

5 Tom Franklin Otago Ngati Maniapoto

6 Reed Prinsep * Canterbury Te Rarawa

7 Shane Christie Tasman Te Ati Haunui a Paparangi / Ngati Kurawhatia

8 Akira Ioane Auckland Ngapuhi / Te Whanau a Apanui

9 Billy Guyton * Tasman Ngapuhi / Ngati Pikiao / Ngati Raukawa

10 Otere Black Manawatu Ngai Tuhoe / Te Whanau-a-Apanui / Ngati Tawharetoa

11 James Lowe Tasman Ngapuhi / Ngai Te Rangi

12 Tim Bateman Canterbury Ngai Tahu

13 Matt Proctor Wellington Ngapuhi / Ngaiterangi

14 Ambrose Curtis * Manawatu Ngai Te Rangi

15 Marty McKenzie Taranaki Ngati Tawharetoa / Ngati Tahinga

16 Leni Apisai * Wellington Ngati Awa

17 Chris Eves Manawatu Waikato / Tainui

18 Marcel Renata Auckland Ngati Whanaunga / Te Aupouri

19 Whetu Douglas * Waikato Ngati Porou / Ngati Whakaue

20 Kara Pryor Northland Ngati Awa / Ngati Pikiao / Ngati Rangitihi

21 Brad Weber Hawkes Bay Ngati Porou

22 Ihaia West Hawkes Bay Ngati Kahungunu / Ngati Porou

23 Jason Emery Manawatu Ngati Haua / Ngati Maniapoto

Photo: Photosport