Nauru elections

Nauruans vote today

There are 60 candidates vying for the 19 seats in eight electorates.

The Electoral Commisssion hoped to have results from election by late on Sunday.

There are 7,479 registered voters in Nauru where it is compulsory to vote.


PIF group to observe Nauru election

The Pacific Islands Forum Electoral Observer Team comprises Teokotai Joseph, Secretary of the Ministry of Corrective Services and Returning Officer of the Cook Islands Electoral Office, and Noel Bugotu, Data Manager, Solomon Islands Electoral Commission.

The team will be supported by officials from the Forum Secretariat.

Pacific Islands Forum Secretary General, Dame Meg Taylor, thanked the Nauru Electoral Commission for the invitation to observe the election.

EU congratulates Nauru President

In his congratulatory message to the President-elect the EU Chargé d`Affaires, Johnny Engell-Hansen, expressed sincere wishes for his success in fulfilling the high responsibilities in his future mandate.             

As the Head of State, Baron Waqa's commitment will be essential in enhancing democratic development, inclusion, accountability, transparency and the empowerment of women in Nauru.

Pacific Islands Forum Observer Update from the 2016 Nauru Elections

Prior to polling the Forum Team met with a range of stakeholders including Members of Parliament, senior government officials, candidates, academia, civil society and representatives of youth, women and disability organisations.                                                                                                  

Observers say Nauru polling day free and fair

RNZI reports the mission released an interim report on the election for the country's 19-seat parliament which was conducted at the weekend.

Mr Tong, who is a former president of Kiribati, said there was comprehensive coverage of all the polling stations by the observers and it was clear that polling was done extremely well.

Commonwealth Observer Mission arrival statement for Nauru General Elections

Our three member team was constituted by the Commonwealth Secretary-General, the Rt Hon Patricia Scotland QC, following an invitation from the Electoral Commissioner of Nauru. The team is supported by two members of staff from the Commonwealth Secretariat.

Commonwealth observers were last deployed to observe Nauru’s General Election in 2004, in a joint mission with the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat. We are very pleased to return in 2016, alongside and working closely with the Pacific Islands Forum observer mission.

PIFS Will Observe 2016 Nauru Election

The observer mission comes in response to an invitation from Nauru’s Electoral Commission and the Government of Nauru.

“The Pacific Islands Forum is committed to ensuring free, safe and credible elections across the region” said Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Dame Meg Taylor.

Nauru's founding Electoral Commissioner readies for busy July 9 election

ABC reports the government had wanted to increase the fee from $100 (US$48) to $2,000(US$1,473) in a move criticised by opposition MPs and prospective candidates as being undemocratic.

But it abandoned the move last week after a submission by the Electoral Commission, and the fee has been set at $500 (US$368) instead.

It's been a busy time for the Commission after it was established earlier this year and the upcoming poll will be the first to be run by an independent statutory body.

Commonwealth says no invite yet to observe Nauru poll

But it said it had not been formally asked to send observers to Nauru, where the international agency last monitored voting 12 years ago.

Earlier this week, two former presidents called on the Commonwealth and the Pacific Islands Forum to step in to monitor what they considered controversial changes to the electoral process.