International debut

Nauru to debut at Oceania rugby this month

The Oceania Rugby Cup (formally known as the FORU Cup) was first played across New Caledonia, Tahiti, Cook Islands and Papua New Guinea in 2007.  It is Oceania Rugby’s longest serving tournament.

The PNG Rugby Football Union (PNGRFU) will host the Oceania Cup for the next four years with Interim Chairman Sydney Yates saying that it is the perfect opportunity to grow the game in PNG, in light of the challenges surrounding the hosting of such events.

“To have the rights to host the Oceania Cup is indeed a huge boost to our morale,” Yates said.